1 year of MV: a love letter to Kesha

One year ago, I was sitting in my American Poetry class with my Macbook open, reading an article about Kesha’s tumultuous legal battle with her abuser, Dr. Luke. I was upset, I was frustrated, I was enraged. I started typing a facebook post when it hit me. ‘I should create a blog.’ I didn’t want my important posts to get lost in the shuffle of the facebook algorithm, as they have in the past. A blog is the perfect place to organize my thoughts and archive them.

I started this blog with zero expectations. No schedule, no collaborators, no true direction. All I sought out to do was create an outlet for myself to write about music. Not album reviews or concert reviews. There’s plenty of stellar journalists out there who are already putting out amazing content of that nature. I wanted to use my voice and education in order to make critical observations and analyses of the music industry. This was the result.

I poured out my unfiltered thoughts on Kesha’s situation in four paragraphs. I hit ‘publish’ and that was it. I didn’t have to wait for an editor to approve my content. There it was for all the world to read. I mean that literally. In one year, my blog has been read in 38 different countries. The top five are United States, Israel, United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand. I love that wordpress records statistics based on countries. It’s incredibly joyous to watch the map fill in with color with every new reader.

Over the past year, I have published 18 posts. That’s not a remarkable figure, but I am proud of what I have accomplished in the first year. Every post was genuine. I don’t have a boss giving me assignments or deadlines and quotas to fill. When I receive the call to write, I write. I am challenging myself to publish more content this year. In 2017, I have already published 6 posts. I am hoping to reach a point where I have regularly scheduled content.

I would like to thank Kesha for courageously sharing her story. If it hadn’t been for Kesha, I would have never received the tenacious motivation to start this blog. She awakened something in me. Her presence is a reminder of the importance of female empowerment and women using their voices in every way they can. Kesha’s perseverance proves that we cannot and will not be silenced.

I have the exciting opportunity to volunteer at SXSW, where Kesha will be delivering a session on taking control of your life via social media and in real life. I am not scheduled to work during this session, so I hope that I am lucky enough to get a seat in her audience. Kesha’s talk is going to be undeniably raw and empowering. Her session is going to take place on March 14 at 3:30 pm.

Thank you Kesha for being your radiant and inspiring self. Thank you Kesha for being courageous in times of adversity. Thank you Kesha for never giving up. We love you, we support you, and we need you.

Leave a Reply

