Heroes Turn Human

Last summer, I interned with an artist management company and a concert promotion company. My boss and her fiancé both work in the industry, so they held a picnic on the off day between the Hartford and Boston dates of Warped Tour. In attendance were Silverstein, Beartooth, and Hands Like Houses. I spent the day eating food, petting dogs, watching the guys play cee-lo, and talking about music. It was a perfectly normal day with an awesome group of people. I acted professional and I didn’t pretend to be anything I’m not. I didn’t embarrass myself, which is a huge accomplishment, because I anticipated I would. It was my first experience hanging out with artists in a casual setting, rather than a meet-and-greet or accidental happenstance.

I have always had a high level of respect and admiration for musicians, rather than an obsession or stalker-like behavior. This was one of the many contributing factors in deciding to pursue a career in music business. I want to work side-by-side with artists and view them as my peers. This picnic felt like a trial for me to determine whether or not I could handle it. I proudly say that I could. Musicians are normal people who happen to have extraordinary talent.

Meeting Shane Told was a huge moment for me. We shook hands and something came over me. All of a sudden, I remembered being 11, suffering with severe depression, and listening to Silverstein every day. I remembered feeling trapped and hopeless, with music as my only solace. I thought about how far I’ve come and how happy I am with my personal growth. I thought about all the kids who are currently struggling like I had. I felt a sense of empowerment and progress. I feel like I have a purpose in life, and that purpose is to ensure that artists can make a living doing what they do best, and to ensure that fans have access to recorded and live music.

Leave a Reply

