#FreeKesha

The more I read about Kesha’s story, the more my heart breaks for her. I get more and more heated with every post I read. I am utterly infuriated. Ten years of sexual, physical, mental, and emotional abuse should be enough justification to terminate a recording contract. Kesha is locked in a contract that requires her to record her next six albums with her abuser in order to be promoted and distributed by Sony. I am utterly repulsed by the New York State Supreme Court for making a decision that forces a woman to work with her abuser in order to continue her career.

She endured this abuse in silence for ten years. She lived in fear that no one would believe her story or that the abuse would increase if she spoke up. She didn’t even want to put her abuser behind bars. All she wanted was to terminate a recording contract. And the New York Supreme Court would not grant that to her. It’s embarrassing. It’s 2016 and victims are still dismissed. Where is the justice in that? It takes an immense amount of courage to speak out while enduring this kind of abuse. Especially when every aspect of your life is already in the public sphere. Kesha is truly a warrior.

The more I read, the more I want to take action. I don’t want this to happen to another woman ever again. I want equal rights and justice. The music industry chews you up and spits you out. Nobody deserves to be sexually and emotionally abused on top of that. I began to get frustrated with myself because I know there is nothing I can directly do to help poor Kesha Rose.

However, I am a woman graduating in May in the top 10% of my class with a Bachelor’s degree in Performing Arts Management. I can fight from the inside. I can promote change and women’s rights. This industry is dominated by men, that I know, but I view it as a challenge. I refuse to go into a field that I find easy. I want to be an inspiration and I want to make a difference. I want to manage, book, promote, develop, and produce artists in a positive environment. Artists expose their entire lives and pour out their entire souls to us. It makes them extremely vulnerable. I want to protect and support them, so they can focus on their craft, and continue to entertain their audience.

Godspeed, Kesha Rose. Hope is stronger than fear. xx

Leave a Reply

